> About Us > Northeast Power Profile



Our Purpose: “The Northeast Power is dedicated to providing reliable and competitively priced electricity to our consumers while maintaining a sound financial position and effective, fair and consistent service.”


The Northeast Power (Northeast Power) was formed in 1998 as a result of the consolidation of two smaller power districts: The Wayne County Public Power District and the Northeast Nebraska Rural Public Power District. At the time the Boards of Directors felt a consolidation would be an effective way to hold down overhead costs, improve efficiency and service and ultimately keep retail electric rates low.


In 2000 the Northeast Power assumed responsibility for serving 14 Villages and Towns with electric service. The Villages and Towns had previously been served by the Nebraska Public Power District, the only statewide electric company in Nebraska.


Northeast Power serves approximately 8,500 retail electric customers in Pierce, Thurston, Wayne, Dixon and Dakota Counties in Nebraska. Northeast Power operates about 3,000 miles of electric lines and over 100 miles of high voltage transmission lines. Power is delivered to the Cities of Wayne, Wakefield, Winside and Emerson over Northeast Power transmission lines from the Nebraska Public Power District which owns coal and nuclear generating plants.


Also see Northeast Power's Financial and Statistical Report